Resolutions

Let’s discuss New Year’s resolutions. Normally I don’t participate in the yearly ritual. When I decided to make a change in my life, I just do it irrespective of the date. This year it just so happens that my decision to alter my writing style coincides with the beginning of the year, so I guess it qualifies as a New Year’s resolution.

There are two aspects of my writing I will strive to change over the coming months.

First, I will be less conservative in my writing. Even as I write this I find myself editing my words as to not offend anyone. I know this is folly and yet I cannot seem to break free of the desire to please everyone. That must change. I will write what I damned well please and chance the consequences.

Second, and this will be the toughest hurdle for me to overcome, I will refrain from self-editing as I write, especially when working on a first draft.

So there you have it. Now if you will excuse me, I have a story to write.

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! Sometimes that knee-jerk compulsion to edit results in a better product. It’s hard to discern where the compulsion to edit comes from, but it isn’t all bad. If you can hone your recognition of why you edit, that helps. 😏

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

