Practice, practice, practice

There is an old joke, often attributed to the late comedian, Jack Benny, who when asked “How does one get to Carnegie Hall?”, responds. “Practice, practice, practice.”

What is true for the musician is also true for the writer. Like any other artist, writer must constantly practice his or her craft. I write every day. I write when I don’t feel like it. I write when the words flow like molasses in January. I write when I can find nothing to say. As Louis L’Amour once said, “Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”

Over the years, I have taken many writing classes from high school English to graduate level College courses. I learned a great deal about the English language and all the many rules of writing. Back in Jr. High they taught us sentence diagraming. In college, I learned the history of the English language and how it has changed over the centuries. All that knowledge is useless if you do not use it and use it daily.

I start each writing session without first taking the time to prime the pump. Rather than jump into the story right off the get go, I take some time and work on some other little project, this blog being one of them. Once the words start to flow, I move on to the story.

Writing is a skill that needs constant practice if it is to be done well. So if you want to be a writer, grab a piece of paper and a pen and get started.

Leave a Reply

