The Author and Reading

“The greatest part of a writer’s time is spent in reading, in order to write; a man will turn over half a library to make one book.”
—Samuel Johnson

If you want to be a writer, it is imperative that you read. Period. As my mom is fond of saying “No ‘ifs’ nor ‘ands’ nor ‘buts’ about it.” I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on. Books, newspapers, encyclopedias; you name it, I read it. My parents were the same way, especially my father. He read every book I brought home from Jr. High and High School, no matter what the subject or genre. I suspect he even read the books I had in grade school.

There is more I could say but it all boils down the a single quote by Stephen King: “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”

My reading current list? Rex Stout, Terry Pratchett, Raymond Chandler, Jim Harrison, and Laurie King.

So tell me, what are you reading?

Leave a Reply

