Writer’s Block

What do you do when the words won’t flow? That question has dogged inexperienced writers for generations. The dreaded writer’s block. I personally don’t believe in it. When I find myself having difficulty moving forward on a story, I revert to a time-honored method of cleaning the pipes, so to speak. I write something else. Louis L’Amour, author of 89 novels and 14 short story collections, said, “Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”  While I’ve never been a big fan of western novels, I can’t argue with the man’s success.

I occasionally experience difficulty when I’m picking up where I left off on a scene that was not firmly in my mind to begin with. When that happens I simply find something else to write. This blog is one example. As I have said before, it is a great way to prime the pump. I also have at least two other projects in the wings. If the primary story is giving me fits, I switch to the next project on my list. Writing is an art and art, any art, demand constant practice.

writers-block-peanuts

Leave a Reply

