Thoughts on Christianity

Shortly after I stated this blog I made a New Year’s resolution to “be less conservative in my writing.” I have struggled with this a great deal over the past week, writing and rewriting the piece that follows. In past years, I would have watered down my thoughts until they were nothing more than weak tea; however, the words and actions of the So-Called Ruler Of The United States (SCROTUS) and his minions have pushed me to follow through on my resolution. For that, I thank them.

When I was a child in the 50’s, I learned that there were two types of Christians, Catholic and Protestant.Them and us. As I grew older, I gradually learned that one’s faith was not so simple and that there were many variations. On the Catholic side, you have Roman Catholic, Russian Orthodox, Eastern Orthodox, Oriental Orthodox, and Evangelical Catholic, while on the Protestant side, you have Adventists, Anglicans, Anabaptists, Baptists, Lutherans, Methodists, and a bevy of Pentecostals and Evangelicals. Many of these groups have off-shoots of their own. Each one of these many and varied religions claims, in some degree or another, to be the true Christian faith.

Some sixty years later, I find myself returned to the belief that there are two types of Christians, those who strive to live by the teachings of Christ, and those who follow the words of men. For the sake of clarification and following the common usage of Xmas to mean Christmas, I will call the latter group Xians.

Both Christians and Xians can be found in every Catholic and Protestant denomination. Christians are by and large quiet and unassuming individuals who practice their faith without fanfare. They live by the words of Christ(and by that I mean the words printed in red in most Bibles). They believe that actions speak louder than words. They do not condemn others. Most importantly, they believe in the unconditional love of all mankind.

Xians, on the other hand, are loud and in-your-face. They go out of their way to publicly proclaim their beliefs. They select only verses from the Bible that fit their concepts and for the most part ignore the word printed in red. They speak loudly and publicly of their faith, but seldom actually put their faith into action. They condemn all those who do not believe as they do. Most importantly they believe in their own unconditional superiority..

I know this because sadly several of my family members are Xians. They are essentially good people who have been led astray by church leaders who value power and money above all else. As a result, these Xians were encouraged to vote for a narcissistic megalomaniac who promised them a return to a perfect white Xian society, a society that never existed in fact. Many see him as the second coming not realizing that he is the anti-Christ.

I find myself wonder if we will survive as a country. When a similar situation happened in Germany, the country had to be reduced to ashes. It took several generations to rebuild and then only with our help. Are we destined to follow the same fate?

Leave a Reply

